A career in Social Media

Social Media Explained (with Donuts) by Chris Lott

Social Media Explained (with Donuts) by Chris Lott

Before the Oscars aired this year, I remember seeing a segment about the one person who was handling all of the social media handles of that show. She was basically updating and managing all of that buzz. Not an entire team, it was just this one young lady. While I don’t manage that big of an account, I can understand how overwhelming it can be to be a one-person social media team.

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before, but not only am I a Copywriter but I’m also a Social Media Manager. Why did I choose that career? Well seeing as I have an English Literature background, its pretty much easy to see why I chose to be a Copywriter. However, seeing as most of my career experience is in Education, people have asked me why I chose Marketing rather than teach. I use to teach but I grew out of it. While I love interacting and teaching people, after my last degree I realized that teaching wasn’t for me. While I liked teaching I couldn’t see myself doing it for years. Why did I decided to do a career in Copywriting and Social Media?

The answer – modern times.

If you haven’t noticed yet, most careers are going digital. I wanted to blend my love of writing with that of what the modern job market wants. I wanted to do something that I could see myself doing for a long long time, especially in Marketing. The impact of Social Media is growing and the demand of full Social Media teams is rapidly growing. Think about it, how many times do you see a hash tag in a commercial? How often do you get asked “Follow us on Facebook” through another ad?

Social Media is a challenge for me. Its not just posting a simple post on every social media channel, you have to do research and you have to aim for engagement. Ladies and gentleman, engagement is key (I’ll talk about it later in another post). Below, I’ll outline just a few basic responsibilities of a Social Media Manager:

Basic Responsibilities of a Social Media Manager

  • Depending on the size of the company, manage one or multiple social media sites like Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, Google+, Pinterest, and LinkedIn
  • Schedule relevant and interesting content to every Social Media account every day
  • Analyze analytics and translate them to optimized content catered to your audiences/followers likes, wants, and needs
  • Run campaigns which feature new products and/or advertise contests
  • Conduct surveys to gather feedback from customers and/or prospective customers

This isn’t a thorough list of a Social Media Manager’s responsibilities, but it gives you an idea of what I do. Its completely exhausting and basically non-stop work. Personally, I think  Twitter takes the most time. It’s difficult to tackle but its absolutely rewarding. The most time consuming part of the job is finding and scheduling content, especially when its just me scheduling post for all medias every single day of the year. Oh and for Twitter, a tweet is considered old after 18 minutes. Try scheduling an intriguing tweet every 18 minutes (not that I do it, but you get how demanding it is).

So yes, I’m a one-person Social Media team. I love it because its not as straightforward as you’d imagine – a career in Social Media takes a lot of time, commitment, and trial & errors. But it get easier over time, especially if you have the right management tools. I’ll discuss those later. For now, let me know if you have any questions.

One thought on “A career in Social Media

  1. Pingback: To Strip, or Not to Strip, Whether ‘Tis be Nobler Than Teaching: The Career Choices of English Majors | A Single Misadventure of a Starving Writer

Leave a Reply

